The Vagaband

Norfolk (UK) -based The Vagaband are an indie roots band at the forefront of the region’s vibrant folk rock scene. Equipped with a rich array of instruments (including pedal steel, flugelhorn, mandolin, clarinet) the band incorporate americana, celtic folk, vaudeville and filmic instrumentals – drawing inspiration from both sides of the Atlantic.

In 2013 they were listed in The Alternate Root’s poll of Top 20 New Roots Bands of Europe. 2014 saw the release of their highly-praised second album ‘Medicine For The Soul’. In 2015, U.S. band Ween asked them to remix material from their ‘Chocolate & Cheese’ album, announcing the results as ‘genius’.

Since then the band have signed a publishing deal with Wipe Out Music and have knuckled down to record album no.3 whilst sharing festival stages with the likes of The Handsome Family, Fairport Convention and Dodgy.

Their live show is the result of a well-oiled touring act who cut their teeth during early years as a street band. Since 2010, The Vagaband have gained a respectful following across the UK festival scene. Appearances include Glastonbury, Secret Garden Party, Wilderness, Bestival, Red Rooster & Maverick Festival. The line up fluctuates between around a core of 9 musicians.

  • Do Me Like You Did (McGill)
  • The River (McGill)
  • Potent Symphony (McGill)
  • Tripping on Cheese (McGill)
  • Top of the Morning (McGill)
  • Lifted (McGill)
  • Black Sheep (McGill)
  • Roll The Thunder (McGill)
  • Aye Aye Aye (McGill)
  • Stone Me (McGill)
  • Lend Me Your Ears (McGill/Cook)
  • An Ocean (McGill/Cook)
  • The Ballad of El Molino (Cook/McGill)
  • The Bad & The Ugly (McGill/Cook)
  • Send in the Cavalry  (Cook/McGill)
  • The Whistling Song (McGill/Cook)
  • Medicine for the Soul (McGill/Cook)
  • Ten Bells Waltz  (Cook/McGill)
  • A Town With No Name  (Cook/McGill)
  • Cisco Wine (McGill/Cook)
  • A Different Drum  (Cook/McGill)
  • Beautiful World (McGill/Cook)
  • Itchy Fingers (McGill/Reynolds)
  • My Maria (McGill/Rawlings)
  • Something Wicked This Way Comes
  • One For the Road
  • There’ll Only Be One Elvis
  • Not My Day to Die
  • An Eye For An Eye
  • Black Eyed Sally
  • Bright Are The Stars
  • Spiritual Man
  • Zoetrope
  • Through The Back Doors