The Mob

In many ways The Mob were the archetypal anarcho punk band. Formed in Yeovil, Somerset in 1979 the band soon spent their time permanently on the road in a convoy of trucks before squatting in Brougham Road, Hackney – a street of houses that accommodated many punk and counter-culture types. Until their demise in 1983 they remained an integral part and a huge influence on the anarcho, traveller and free festival scenes. Their first release was the 1980 Crying Again single on their own All The Madmen label, followed later that year by the Ching cassette which is included here. 1981 saw another single the hugely popular and haunting Witch Hunt soon followed by their now legendary Crass single No Doves Fly Here, both taking anarcho punk into new musically uncharted waters.

1983 saw the release of their now legendary album Let The Tribe Increase, an album that saw them moving away from the constraints of the punk sound as they continued to push the musical boundaries. This trend continued in their epic single The Mirror Breaks.

Eventually The Mob dissolved with Joseph Porter joining Zounds before founding Blyth Power.

The band broke up in 1983 but reformed in 2011 and played a number of concerts with the original members. The first was on April 8, 2011 at The Fleece in Bristol and later in the year, The Levellers Beautiful Days Festival in Devon on August 20 North American shows followed in October 2012 and various European gigs in 2012/13. Their first new release in almost 30 years was the 7″ single Rise Up!/There’s Nothing You’ve Got I Want in August 2013.

Web Site:


  • Another Day, Another Death
  • Clown
  • Crying Again
  • Gates Of Hell
  • I Hear You Laughing
  • I Wish
  • Mirror Breaks
  • Never Understood
  • No Doves Fly Here
  • No Time
  • Shuffling Souls
  • Slayed
  • Violence
  • What’s Going On
  • White Niggers
  • Witch Hunt
  • Youth
  • Cry Of The Morning
  • Dance On (You Fool)
  • Our Life Our World
  • Raised In A Prison
  • Roger
  • Stay
  • Rise Up!
  • There’s Nothing You Got I Want