The Furrow Collective

The Furrow Collective delve into an obscure world of balladry at its darkest and quirkiest. At Our Next Meeting brings gems from the traditional repertoires of four of the finest folk musicians from both sides of the English/Scottish border. Daringly exposed, unaffected voices are accompanied by harp, guitar, viola, concertina, banjo, fiddle and musical saw. With a bold, improvised approach, their focus is to capture the raw edges and fleeting magic of narrative song, with storytelling at the centre.

Emily Portman and Alasdair Roberts are both celebrated for their original, folklore-influenced songwriting and have collaborated on several previous albums. Lucy Farrell and Rachel Newton are bewitching solo artists, sought-after session players and long-time members of The Emily Portman Trio.

Warmly accessible yet raw and uncompromising, At Our Next Meeting shows a breadth of Scottish and English folk traditions with four artists at the height of their powers.

  • Wild And Wicked Youth
  • King Henry
  • The Outlaw Of The Hill
  • Wondrous Love
  • Hind Horn
  • Handsome Molly
  • Our Captain Calls
  • Demon Love
  • The Blantyre Explosion
  • I’d Rather Be Tending My Sheep
  • Johnny My Man
  • Skippin Barfit Through The Heather
  • Henry Lee
  • Poor Old Horse
  • Shule Agra
  • The Unquiet Grave
  • Lament To The Moon
  • Oh To Be In My Bed And Happit / Blow Out The Moon

The Furrow Collective – Facebook