Morgan Le Fay

Morgan le Fay are Brereton Preen (vocals/guitar), Cameron Smith (keyboards/vocals), and Ian ‘Fastboy’ Robinson (accordion). They are joined on this CD by Paul G Taylor (drums), Steve Robinson (bass) and Mike Swindale (violin).

Inspired by such luminaries as the legendary Gram Parsons, Hank Williams and Johnny Cash, together with more modern day contemporaries such as The Go Betweens and REM, Northumbria’s finest make a welcome return with this 3 track CD single of original material. Once again Brereton Preen offers us a unique insight into our every day world through the catchy, sleazy, bluesy masterpiece of observation ‘The Catscratch Crown‘. Complementing the renowned song writing skills of Preen is new talent Cameron Smith’s ‘Put on the Breaks‘, a haunting melodic ballad. Both of these songs are taken from the forthcoming, as yet untitled CD album due for release 13th September 2004. As a bonus, for the first time on CD we are delighted to offer ‘This Eternity‘ taken from the Morgan le Fay archives written by Preen and the late Emma D. Lowden.

Brereton Preen and Morgan le Fay skilfully intertwine a myriad of influences into a colourful and highly original hybrid of all things roots, folk, country, rock and pop. One thing you can be certain of is stunning music and searching lyrics. A tight knit rhythm, built on by strong guitar and keyboard with powerful melodic vocals. Add to this the skills of crisp accordion and electric fiddle virtuosity and you have one of the most sought after and well respected bands to break onto the new music scene in recent years.

Released on the recently established Coelocanth Recording Company label this CD will make a welcome addition to ‘Glororum Too‘, MLF’s debut album. Receiving rave reviews internationally the self distributed album sold over 5000 copies worldwide, and established the band a firm and loyal global following. In his singular, solo guise Brereton Preen has worked with the likes of Boo Hewerdine, America’s Cathy Ryan, and Canada’s October Browne. More often than not however, you will find him fronting Morgan – a love affair which looks set to continue. Extensive tours of the UK and USA have established Brereton Preen and Morgan le Fay as an act you cannot afford to miss.


  • Come Shine Or Summer Rain
  • Father Song
  • New Religion
  • Put On The Brakes
  • Queen Of The Backstage
  • Sandshoes
  • The Catscratch Crown
  • These Guys
  • This Eternity
  • Diabolical Mimicry
  • Somewhere There’s A Light