Joshua Burnell

“This was excellent stuff. They would go down a storm at Cropredy, Fairport Convention’s annual celebration of folk-rock.” York Press

Joshua Burnell sparked the interest of the folk world with his ambitious Seasons Project which saw him release one of his folk-rock arrangements of a traditional song or tune every week for a year. Fourteen favourites formed Joshua’s release, Songs From The Seasons, released to hugely positive critical success on the 4th May 2018. This February, Joshua is following up Songs From The Seasons with another folk-rock offering – The Road To Horn Fair.
Fatea Magaizne described Joshua’s music as, “quite definitely a step up from traditional folk, and quite definitely worthy of a mention in any progressive rock hall of fame.”

Amongst recent accolades, the Seasons Project earned Joshua the Highly Commended Best Performing Artist award at the York Culture Awards 2017and he and his band won the The Great British Folk Festival audience poll for favourite act by an overwhelming majority when they performed this year. They will be returning to play on the main stage on December 1st 2018.

Joshua Burnell’s debut album Into the Green was widely praised on its release in 2016. Acoustic magazine called it “A welcome blast of originality in our serious world, it’s a hugely impressive work and a lot of fun”. Classic Rock commented: “The Incredible String Band would be proud.” And R2 magazine in its Best of the Year, concluded “One way or another, this exciting young artist is certainly going to make himself heard.”

“Into the Green isn’t just a music album. It’s a piece of art right from the cover through to every beautiful track and every poetic lyric.” – York Calling

“A highly original story, a highly original concept, highly original songs, beautiful artwork, and completely brilliant in every respect.” – Fatea Magazine.

“A fusion of artists offering a unique sound and abundance of talent, resulting in a fantastic folk/rock sound.” – Everything York

“Beautiful.” – R2 Magazine.

Joshua Burnell’s website

  • Ah Robyn Gentyl Robyn
  • Apples In Winter
  • Barrack Street
  • Bear Dance
  • Behind The Haystack
  • Berkshire Tragedy
  • Black Is The Colour (version A)
  • Black Is The Colour (version B)
  • Boys of Bedlam
  • Bridget O’Malley
  • Cam Ye O’er Frae France?
  • Cold Haily Windy Night
  • Davy Lowston
  • Dowie Dens Of Yarrow
  • Drive The Cold Winter Away
  • Drowsy Maggie & Rakish Paddy
  • Fair As The Heather
  • Farewell To Tarwathie
  • Forest Wanderer
  • God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  • Gower Wassail
  • Guy Fawkes, Prince Of Sinisters
  • High Germany
  • Horn Fair
  • In The Month Of January
  • Into The Green pt 1: The Enchanted Wood
  • Into The Green pt 2: The Dark Wood
  • Into The Green pt 3: The Deep
  • Into The Green pt 4: The Dwarf
  • Into The Green pt 5: The Misted Valley
  • Into The Green pt 6: The Gremlin King
  • Into The Green pt 7: The Return
  • King Of The Fairies
  • Leave Her Johnny
  • Lord Franklin
  • May Song
  • Mrs McGrath
  • Nobody’s Jig
  • Pastime With Good Company
  • Plane Tree & Tenpenny Bit
  • Prickle Eye Bush
  • Raggle Taggle Gipsy O
  • Raggle Taggle Gypsies
  • Reynardine, The Werefox
  • Robin Hood & The Pedlar
  • Scarborough Fair
  • She Moved Through The Fair
  • Sing For The Island
  • Sir Bosmer In Elfland
  • Spellbound
  • Tabhair Dom Do Lamh
  • Tam Lin
  • The Autumn Overture
  • The Banshee Set
  • The Blacksmith
  • The Curse Of Hoxne Bridge
  • The Foggy Dew
  • The King Of The Fairies
  • The Knight And The Shepherdess
  • The Lowlands of Holland
  • The Maid And The Palmer
  • The Mermaid’s Prophecy
  • The Nightingale
  • The Official Brawle
  • The Old Man And The Tree
  • The Search
  • The Smuggler’s Tale
  • The Snow And Frost Are All Over
  • The Snow It Melts The Soonest
  • The Trees They Do Grow High
  • The Winner’s Side
  • Three Sailors (Tri Martolod)
  • Trip To Durrow
  • Two Magicians
  • Wild Mountain Thyme
  • The Skylark And The Oak
  • Bruton Town
  • The King
  • Three Ravens
  • Willie O Winsbury
  • Midnight Wander