Control – a Molotov cocktail of music and message

Formed in early 2009 with members from the second and third generation of punk bands Intensive Care and Beerzone, Control really hit the ground running!

Within a fortnight of them finishing their first studio recordings their track Keep The Home Fires Burning had been chosen for inclusion in the film Green Street 2.

Their debut album Hooligan Rock n Roll was released in June 2009 in the UK on Step-1, the USA on Long Shot Music and in Germany on Contra. Two split 7” quickly followed: one with The Business soon followed on Germany’s People Like You label and one with Australia’s Marching Orders.

Doing what any good punk band should they toured the album in UK, USA and Europe shifting several thousand copies of the album in the process.

In June 2010 three new tracks were released as a 7” on Step-1 and became the label’s fastest selling single. Proof that despite falling sales, if the product is good enough people will still buy it!

2010 saw the band play with Cock Sparrer, Stiff Little Fingers, UK Subs and Mad Sin as well as becoming regulars on the punk festival circuit.

June 2011 saw the release of their second album Punk Rock Ruined My Life, released on four different labels internationally. One reviewer described the album as a masterpiece in songwriting, musicianship and production, and proclaimed a lot of bands will have to now up their game dramatically to be able to live with this release. The album has received critical acclaim in many well known magazines and websites and is a constant top seller on Interpunk.

Having heard the album Rancid’s Lars Frederiksen declared it one his top ten favourite albums and invited Control to support his latest side-project The Old Firm Casuals on their July 2011 UK tour, which was a massive success. Further plans are afoot for the two bands to work together including an upcoming split 7” and an American tour. Lars also predicts that Control will soon be a household name throughout the world, high praise indeed.

In August 2011 Control played to a packed room at Rebellion Festival thoroughly justifying their ‘must see’ tag in the programme.

Check out the video for ‘He’s A Skinhead’.

In 2012 the band played the Rebellion Festival again and filled their room to capacity and continued playing shows all over Europe with highlights including being special guests for a show with Cock Sparrer in Amsterdam before playing the same venue again two months later as guests with American punk giants, Rancid.

Due to the success of the Rancid show, the band were invited to play on the Rancid tour in December 2012 with Rancid then inviting the band to tour the USA with them at some point in the near future.

Due to the success of the band’s first two albums the band have been signed to Randale Records, one of the top punk labels in Europe and have just finished recording what will be their 3rd album, Ballad of the Working Man, released in July 2013 and has received wide critical acclaim and was recently included in the UK’ national magazine, Vive Le Rock, as one of the best albums of 2013 alongside acts such as Motorhead, Iggy Pop, Arctic Monkeys, Gary Numan, Nick Cave and Primal Scream.

Check out the promotional video for ‘Tattoos’…

2013 saw the band play all over the UK and at various festivals around Europe including Kanalrock in Norway where they were voted one of the best acts of the weekend.

In 2014 the band toured the USA, receiving a massive response and have played festivals and toured in Germany, Sweden, Norway, France, Netherlands, Russia, Belgium and all over the UK and Ireland.

The band had the album’s title track included in ‘Still The Enemy Within’ the 2014 Docu Fest award winning film.

The band is currently working on material for what will be the 4th studio album due to the demand following the success of the latest album which is on re-press after only five months.

Web Site:


  • 10 Years Of Chaos
  • Spirit of Boudicca
  • Depressed
  • Guilty By Association
  • Keep The Home Fires Burning
  • Hooligan Rock ‘n’ Roll
  • Let’s Go To War
  • Nail Your Colours To The Mast
  • Rollover
  • Sold Down The River
  • Son Of A Gun
  • Stand Up And Fight
  • Vigilante
  • Welcome To The Nanny State
  • When The Empire Falls
  • Trouble On The Streets
  • What If?
  • Thirty Years Ago
  • Another Mother\’s Son
  • Chaos In The Community
  • He’s A Skinhead
  • High Time I Hung Up My Boots
  • Ian Huntley
  • Job To Do
  • No Hope For Heroes
  • No More
  • Punk Rock Ruined My Life
  • Rebellion In My Blood
  • Soldier of Misfortune
  • Thrown To The Wolves
  • Troubled Times
  • Wake Up And Smell The Roses
  • Wild Colonial Boy
  • Tribal
  • Feeling The Pain
  • Trouble
  • Ballad Of The Working Man
  • The Only Thing I Know
  • Tattoos
  • Angry Punk Rock Song
  • I’m Not Doing It
  • Liberty
  • Another Country Gone Wrong
  • Knuckle Down
  • Back In The Day
  • Forgotten Generation
  • Revenge
  • Simple Soul
  • The Age That Doesn’t Care
  • United In Blood
  • The Working Poor
  • Brainwashing Britain’s Children
  • Biting The Hand That Feeds You
  • Betrayed
  • Rock & Roll Savage
  • Pigeonholed By Cretins
  • Forty Days and Forty Nights
  • Things Are Getting Better
  • Never Take Second Best
  • Punk Life
  • Left Alone
  • This City
  • Only The Good Die Young
  • The Morning After The Riot Before
  • Helltown
  • Democracy Is Dead
  • Violent World
  • To The Manor Born
  • Anti-Social Media
  • One Day Soon
  • American Gangster
  • Everything’s Gonna Be Alright
  • Punk On The Peninsula
  • I Just Don’t Understand
  • Snowflake Generation
  • This Rage I Have
  • Masters Of Disater
  • Friends